Graffiti

 

I’m going through a new phase in my life, Trying to step out the box of orthodox and write about things differently. I’ve read experimenting with my writing will sharpen my skills, or lack there of. The thread also said to write for thirty minutes and write action packed sentences. My first thought was, well that’s easy, I have an action packed life, but then i realised i most certainly do not have an action packed life. My life is so boring i actually create my own problems. The most exciting thing i have to offer in this writing today is my knee feels like it’s about to explode. Exciting*

I’ve known as a kid i was a adrenaline junky. I was always doing stupid shit. Jumping off roofs into above ground swimming pools, stealing farm equipment to joy ride, jumping off bridges, drinking too much… I was just your normal everyday kid. NOT. I sure thought i was though. There was this one time when i was 9 years old and I had these older friends that clearly were NOT a bad influence on me. Anyhow, we broke into this abandoned house and took our frustration out on it. Well, they did. ME being the genius i am, i just spray painted a super heroes name on the wall.I always believed in great people and looked up to them, and, i was always looking for something to believe in.

Months later, at 0200, i was in the living room playing this bad ass game called Worms Armageddon on my step dads PlayStation. I look out the window and see 4 cops. What in the hell, right? I don’t even think ive ever saw a cop before this in rel life. So, i go to wake up my mother by telling her cops are at the door. As and fantastic parent would do my Mother approached the situation and before you know it i was in custody. The officers were extremely nice, they didn’t even put me in handcuffs. I mean, why would they? I was 9 years old and i obviously denied everything. As fate would have it though, the proof i had been in the house was inevitable seeing how the name “Tommie Hurst” was blasted all over the abandoned houses’ living room wall.

Did you catch that? Not only was i arrested for a felony at 9 years old, but i also had the mental capability to realize im my own personal hero. The truth is, no one has you like you. You and your own personal Jesus have your back until the end of time. Realizing this, in my mid twenties, i started to make better decisions. It’s a fight every day. Some of you may have no idea what its like, to have all this bravado in your veins. I wake up everyday and have to choose to be good. It doesn’t come natural. Theres a monster in me man, but I keep it on a tight leash. Theres something inside of me that is full of passion, excitement. It’s a burning desire to DO something. Anything. I just want to do it, no matter what it is. So, i have to channel it, i have to pour out that emotion, that furious ball of eagerness, into positive things. I focus my anxiety on good. IT was hard at first, to be an action sports adrenaline junky, and focus that rush on little things, like writing a blog or reading a book. But, i do it. I exert my mind rather than my body. I exert my fingertips on a keyboard rather than my fist on a wall, my body on hers, or my hands on a bottle. But, i do it everyday. Every day I win this battle. All for one simple reason, i believe in myself. I believed in myself before anyone else ever did.

Tommie Leegraffiti

Leave a Reply

