My Journey Home

       From as early as I can remember, I dreamed of being a captain of a ship. To be out there on the Ocean in the middle of the night, navigating by the stars. I always thought it would be the greatest life on Earth.

        Through my journey I’ve came across many mentors and personal leaders along the way. Some employed as Captains, some Artist, and some Philosophers. For the sake of this blog, I will honorably mention Odysseus. Odysseus was a Greek God as well as a very intelligent man. He is most famous for the Odyssey, a ten year trip returning back home. See, Odysseus played a major role in the Trojan war, but his most challenging objective was not the pursuit of being victorious in the Trojan war, but it was his return from the war! He spent a decade fighting, but his biggest battle was finding his way back home. How weird is that? I admire him for his life lessons I can learn from. Life isn’t always about accomplishing your dreams as much as it is knowing where your home is. Sometimes, we get so lost trying to make a living we forget to make a life. Being a captain must be great, that 6 figure salary is nothing to be ashamed of, but I’d take a hard working wife and a healthy child over that salary any day. Money is temporary, but your legacy will last forever.

       I know I’ll make a terrific Captain, but the fact of the matter is, I’ve accepted I can’t do every single silly thing I want to accomplish in life. I have to make choices, even harder than that, I have to be happy with the choices I make. With that being said, I think I am doing pretty well. I’m not saying this life is easy, but I do believe you’ll find some solace in the way I look at you. You see, sailors admire the Polaris, the north Star, that’s how they find their way home. When I look at you, that’s what I see. I see my way home.

TLH

Leave a Reply

